This Committee was allowed to sunset on September 30, 2017, per the originating ordinance.  The Committee unanimously recommended approval of the Comprehensive Plan on August 24, 2017.  The public hearing for the adoption of the Plan by the City Council occurred on Tuesday, September 19, 2017, and was unanimously approved.

Duties included:

  1. Aiding in the planning process, as an ad-hoc committee, giving direction to the planning team, helping to guide the development of the comprehensive plan.
  2. Representing the citizenry of Duncanville and encouraging their participation throughout the Comprehensive Plan process.

Mission Statement

The purpose of the Citywide Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee was to educate and empower Duncanville citizens and business owners on the civic responsibility required to give sustainable direction and vision to help guide the development of the Comprehensive Plan.

Membership Details

The Comprehensive Plan Steering Committee was made up of 12 citizens representing a range of interests and stakeholders in the community and was established to guide the development of the plan. The Steering Committee members were appointed by City Council in August 2015. There was a representative from each council district, a representative from the Economic Development Corporation, the Planning and Zoning Commission, the Neighborhood Vitality Commission, the Chamber of Commerce and the School District. The Mayor served as chair of the committee.



Chasidy Allen Benson, AICP

City Planner

(972) 707-3871


Ken Weaver
Gale Sliger
Donna Harris
Jeff Burton
Sheldon Silk
Kenneth Govan
Barry Gordon
Greg Zylka
Ralo Thompson
Steve Martin
Phil McNeely
Derwin Broughton (Alternate)
George Turner (Alternate)
Walter Rhim (Alternate)
Ron Kuehler (Alternate)